Thursday, September 3, 2015

Thoughts on the Yoga Sutras - 1.5

vrttaya pancatayyah klistaklistah

The movements of consciousness are fivefold. They may be cognizable or non-cognizable, painful or nonpainful.

I particularly like this translation because of the word “may”. It isn’t until much later that we may find the movements were klista/aklista.

“Whether these activities are beneficial or create problems cannot be immediately seen. Time alone will confirm their effect.” - Desikichar

“It is important to note here that even the most subtle and benign workings of thought are obstructions to freedom of the spirit.” (Miller)

Whether these thoughts are happy or painful, they are all the same, culminating in a cycle of varying thoughts and emotions throughout our life. Even the most happy moments of our life can be surrounded by thoughts or emotions opposing the experience immediately and over time. (births, deaths, marriage, love, etc.)

The above post is a self-unpacking of the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. I am not a professional historian, I am only sharing my thoughts on the topic. The Thoughts on the Yoga Sutras postings came about as preparation for a weekly study group that I attend at Karuna Center for Yoga and Healing Arts ( Please feel free to share your thoughts and ideas in the comments section.

No comments:

Post a Comment